Freaks: Strange and Imperfect Superheros

Yesterday marked the release of “Freaks”, an awesome new short story collection and I’m lucky enough to be hosting one of the stories here.  The book is a collaboration between two writers (Nik Perring and Caroline Smailes) and illustrated by comic book artist Darren Craske.

Each story in Freaks gives you a glimpse of a person with an unusual superpower.  Some are more obviously ‘magical’, like the woman who can make copies of herself at will, but most are ordinary people with more everyday superpowers like the ability to alter the emotions of those around you (by commenting on her partner’s sexual failings at a dinner partner).  My favourite so far is about a girl trying to explain that she doesn’t need to be in a mental institution, she’s not suicidal, she just enjoys flying and hasn’t quite worked out the landings yet.  It’s one of those stories that in a short space manages to be both funny and quietly sad.

In some ways Freaks reminds me of The Tiny Wife, but much more dark and creepy.  The comic book style illustrations really complement this collection of strange and imperfect superheros.  Definitely worth a look.

Invisible

SUPER POWER: The ability to make oneself unseen to the naked eye

 

Invisible

If I stay totally still,

if I stand right tall,

with me back against the school wall,

close to the science room’s window,

with me feet together,

pointing straight,

aiming forward,

if I make me hands into tight fists,

make me arms dead straight,

if I push me arms into me sides,

if I squeeze me thighs,

stop me wee,

if me belly doesn’t shake,

if me boobs don’t wobble,

if I close me eyes tight,

so tight that it makes me whole face scrunch,

if I push me lips into me mouth,

if I make me teeth bite me lips together,

if I hardly breathe,

if I don’t say a word.

Then,

I’ll magic meself invisible,

and them lasses will leave me alone.

I kindly received a free review e-copy from The Friday Project in exchange for an honest review.

This entry was posted in Short stories and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Freaks: Strange and Imperfect Superheros

  1. Pingback: Winner! « The Nik Perring Show

Leave a Reply

