Confessions of a Showbiz Reporter by Holly Forrest

I’ve managed to wangle a few free books recently, so I’ve decided to pass some of them on to appease the book karma gods. If you would like to win a free copy of Confessions of a Showbiz Reporter, just leave a comment below and I’ll pop your name in the hat. (I even planned ahead and didn’t dog-ear the pages or break the spine as I read, so it will feel all shiny and new!)

confessions of a showbiz reporter

In some ways, I’m not the intended audience for this book. I don’t read celebrity gossip pages, not for snobby reasons, but because I don’t really care about who’s wearing what or who’s snogged Robert Pattinson recently. But I am interested in the behind-the-scenes stuff – how fame and celebrity works when you peek behind the shiny exterior, how people cope with that lack of anonymity/privacy, what all those people behind the scenes, whose names flash past too quickly on the credits, actually do. For that reason, and because I’ve got Confessions of a GP from the series on my to-read list, I wanted to give this one a go.

I think what’s really great about this book is Holly herself. She obviously loves her job, and works insane hours as times, but also doesn’t take it all too seriously – she knows she’s not saving the world and doesn’t pretend to be.

As for ‘confessions’, there weren’t as many as I expected there to be, and I didn’t come away with anything I didn’t already know. The first half of the book dealt with getting into showbiz journalism, her early career and the basics – like how boring film junkets are for everyone involved. I preferred the second half, where I felt she got into specifics a bit more.

The chapters are super short (none are more than a few pages), so it was really quick, easy read. Some of the chapters are about specific celebrities – Adele, Johnny Depp, Rihanna, – others about the nature of the biz from PR girlies to freezing cold premiers. A lot of the job seems to be about relationships – both with ‘sources’ and with an interviewee you only have a few minutes to form something with and get what you need.

I think you’ll enjoy this book if you’re a celebrity gossip person, are interested in a behind-the-scenes peek, or just fancy an easy quick read. Just leave a comment if you’d like the chance to win a copy and give it a go too.

This entry was posted in Non-fiction and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Confessions of a Showbiz Reporter by Holly Forrest

  1. David Perry says:

    This sounds like a great read, I’d love to know a bit more about what goes on behind the scenes! Did the free copies already get taken?!

Leave a Reply

