June Reads 2014

At the end of last year, I said I would do monthly wrap-ups of what I’m reading, review it half-way through, then try and fill in some of my reading ‘gaps’. But, I’ve decided I want to do something else instead – tackle my TBR. I moved my books around and put all my unread books on one shelf. This shelf looks at me with a combination of shame and excitement. What I want to do is get that shelf read, and never have more than 15 unread books. Because of that, I’m going to have to put the ‘gap-filling’ aim on hold for now, as I can’t get new books to fill those gaps before I’ve read the ones I’ve got. For the next six months, I’ll being reading the unread, alongside review books and book club books (which I’m not allowed to buy!). I’ll put a TBR number at the end of every wrap-up.

Anyway, onto my June reading…Not so much read this month because I was ill, but still a couple of crackers in there.

twin truths Shelan RodgerTwin Truths by Shelan Rodger (Novel)

An easy-read which was okay, but not great. Full review here.

The Brief and Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao by Junot Diaz (Novel)

the brief and wondrous life of oscar waoI loved this book. It’s about Oscar, an overweight, nerdy, and not at all macho Dominican who’s having a painful adolescence. It’s also about his family, the history of the Dominican Republic and its dictator, fukus and zafas (curses and good luck), culture, and expressions of ‘manliness’. There’s so much to think about in it, but it’s also just great to read. The best book I read this month by a mile. Go read it. (Incidentally, although I already owned it, I read this for a Writers of Colour book club on Goodreads, which you can find here if you fancy joining to help diversify your reading.)

who are you elizabeth forbesWho Are You? by Elizabeth Forbes (Novel)

Another quick read, but this time a much darker one. The twists are pretty obvious, but it was enjoyable as an easy read (in as much as you can ‘enjoy’ violence if you know what I mean). Full review here.

Photo 14-06-2014 19 57 08Scott Pilgrim numbers 4, 5 & 6 by Bryan Lee O’Malley (Graphic novels – fiction)

These are the last three in the series. I really liked 4 & 5, but found 6 disappointing and anticlimactic. The books that have more of a focus of the secondary characters are a lot better. I wrote a review of the full series here.

the tenant of wildfell hallThe Tenant of Wildfell Hall by Anne Bronte (Novel)

It’s been a while since I’ve read any books of this era but it was surprisingly easy to get into this. This isn’t as good as Jane Eyre, but didn’t deserve Charlotte’s suppression. This is the first feminist novel and is very enjoyable, despite being a bit waffly in places. Worth reading. Full review here.

Y the last man

Y the Last Man: Volume 1 by Brian K. Vaughn, Pia Guerra & Jose Marzan Jr. 
This series is about a sudden apocalypse/plague which instantly kills every male creature on earth, except a man called Yorick and his (male) monkey Ampersand. It’s a really interesting idea, but I’m not sure if I liked this book or not! I think, once I’ve gotten my TBR down a bit, I’ll need to read a couple more to work out what I think.

State of the TBR: 57 books which doesn’t include short story collections as I read those in bits. Yikes!

This entry was posted in Graphic novels / comics, Novels, Wrap-ups and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

