Diary by Chuck Palahniuk

diaryI think my favourite genre is weird-dark, so it’s strange that it’s taken me so long to read any Palahniuk (who also wrote Fight Club). Diary is a ‘coma diary’ written by Misty Wilmot as her husband, Peter, is in a coma after a suicide attempt. Misty hates Peter and is brilliantly snarky and angry. They live on a once affluent island which is now filled with tourists and second homes. It turns out Peter, who had been refurbishing some of the houses, has been plastering in and hiding whole rooms, leaving horrible messages scrawled all over the walls and furnishings. But that isn’t really the story. It gets weirder. And darker.

I really enjoyed this. It’s bleakly funny and weird and dark and a bit horrifying, which is basically perfect for me. It reminded me of Shirley Jackson, but more graphic because it’s Chuck Palahniuk. I thought the very last page was unnecessary and a little cheesy, though I can see why it’s there. Without that final page, I think it has a better, creepier ending as it’s a little more ambiguous and there’s more of a sense of the story repeating forever.

I’m not sure what the correct term is, but I really liked the production on the cover (I have a Vintage books UK paperback). It’s kind of soft and floppy, which would be annoying for a long book but for a short one it just had a really nice feel to it when reading.

An enjoyable creepy read that I definitely recommend to fans of slow horror and Shirley Jackson.

This entry was posted in Novels and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Diary by Chuck Palahniuk

  1. Pingback: September Reads | mischief and miscellany

  2. Pingback: September Reads | mischief and miscellany

Leave a Reply

