October Reads 2014

I didn’t blog much in October because my internet is broken (currently stealing coffee shop wifi!), but I did manage to get some reading in. I read a few good novels, one very average one, and a whole bunch of comics.

wytchesWytches #1 by Scott Snyder & Jock (Comic – fiction)

I loved this and I think it will be a great series. I really liked their take on the mythology of witches and I’m looking forward to where it goes next. Full review here.

midwich cuckoosThe Midwich Cuckoos by John Wyndham (Novel)

I didn’t enjoy this as much as The Day of the Triffids but it’s still an enjoyable enough old-school horrorish read. I do like horror from the 50s; it’s slow in the best way. I’m sure I’ve never read it before, or seen the film (renamed as Village of the Damned), but the first couple of chapters were so familiar to me it I felt like I knew it word for word. Weird.

the hoursThe Hours by Micheal Cunningham (Novel)

This book is incredible and easily the best thing I read all month. I liked Mrs Dalloway, but I definitely enjoyed this more. I think where Mrs D is subtext, this is text, if that makes sense, and it manages to pull off being both a reworking and an enhancement to Mrs D. It made me like Mrs D more and see more in it. If you read it, I would say read Mrs Dalloway first, and then read this soon after while it’s still relatively fresh to get the most out of it.

black holeBlack Hole by Charles Burns (Graphic novel – fiction)

I was a bit disappointed by this, but perhaps my expectations were too high. I think my main problem was that it felt over-long for what it was and could have been worked into a much tighter, shorter story.

chewChew Vols 1 & 2 by John Layman & Rob Guillory (comics – fiction)

I loved this. It’s kind of gross and funny and weird and very enjoyable. When I (eventually) finish the series I’ll do a full review. But I do recommend you check it out.

sandmanSandman Vol 1 by Neil Gaiman (Comics – fiction)

I liked this, but it wasn’t as good as I wanted it to be. I think, as a whole, it’s a bit uneven and feels like Gaiman was finding his feet as not all the stories work as well as others. But the final issue in the volume / story arc did make me want to read more as it opened up some interesting possibilities (and I love Death), so I’ll give the second volume a go before I decide what I think of Sandman.

pretty deadlyPretty Deadly Vol 1 by Kelly Sue DeConnick & Emma Rios (Comics – fiction)

The artwork is really great with an interesting use of panels, but the writing is a little messy, which is a shame as it’s an interesting concept. It was hard to follow at times and some of the characters were a bit thin, or would get a lot of back story and then disappear forever. I don’t think I’ll be reading volume 2.

limestone wallLimestone Wall by Marlene Lee (Novel)

This was a pretty ‘average-to-meh’ novel because the writing just wasn’t good enough. It was a review copy so I’ve done a full review here.

State of the TBR: 53 books. Seriously, what?

This entry was posted in Graphic novels / comics, Novels, Wrap-ups and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

