May Reads 2015

Apart from a couple of comics, May has had an accidental theme of ‘teenagers’. No idea why.

the beach hutThe Beach Hut by Cassandra Parkin (novel)

This is a book about the different kinds of relationships between family members, and the stories we tell, or don’t tell. Fairy tales, the dark kind, play a huge part of this. A good one to take the beach. Full review here.

the country of ice cream starThe Country of Ice Cream Star by Sandra Newman (novel)

I really enjoyed this, particularly the language (it’s written in a futuristic version of AAVE). Although it has a number of YA tropes it’s definitely not a YA book, and deals with a number of interwoven themes complexly. I’d recommend it for the language alone. Full review here.

we were liarsWe Were Liars by E. Lockhart (novel)

I didn’t love or hate this: it was ok. I’m not much of a YA fan, and I think that was my problem with the book. Some interesting themes were touched upon, like class, race, and family, but there wasn’t enough depth for me. The other three ‘liars’ were also surprisingly thin characters, though some of the other family members felt more fleshed out. And as the book was marketed as having a ‘big shocking twist’, you inevitably guess it early which you may not have done had you not been told that. But if you’re looking for a quick and easy summer read, this would probably be a good bet as at has a hazy summer quality.

goblet of fireHarry Potter and the Goblet of Fire by JK Rowling (novel)

I’m enjoying my slow re-read of the series, and I’m glad I left it long enough to have forgotten lots of the details. Interestingly I find myself much more annoyed at Dumbledore’s vagueness this time around (which will probably be more apparent when I get to the last book). And, even though I know there’s no way a film can fit everything in, I’m annoyed on Hermione’s behalf that they left out S.P.E.W. – as this is the book where the darkness really begins, I think it’s an important element which introduces the idea of racial prejudice and privilege (how easy it is not to notice if you are part of the dominating group).

saga vol 4Saga vol. 4 by Brian K Vaughan & Fiona Staples (comics – fiction)

This was good, but I didn’t enjoy it quite as much as volume 3. This felt more like a bridging volume – tying up some of the threads from 3 and setting up the next. I still enjoyed it though, and I like that the characters are constantly developing in reaction to everything that’s going on.

lazarusLazarus vol. 1 by Greg Rucka & Michael Lark (comics – fiction)

I’m not sure what I thought about this. I wasn’t a big fan of the art style but I liked the premise – a dystopian future in which the world is run by a handful of wealthy families, who each have one technologically advanced person, a Lazarus, to protect them and lead their respective armies, while the majority of the world are impoverished people called ‘waste’. It’s a very short volume and there isn’t quite enough in it to hook me in, or maybe the premise just wasn’t different enough. I don’t feel in any particular rush to pick up the next, but may do at some point to give it more of a chance because it came highly recommended as a series.

Currently reading: Fan by Danny Rhodes

This entry was posted in Wrap-ups and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

