My literary tattoos

I know they’re not for everyone, but I love tattoos. As an indecisive person who can easily spend 10 minutes dithering over what toothpaste to buy, I weirdly love the permanency of them. And, obviously, I like the way they look. I have five tattoos in total, three of which are literary references. The two that aren’t are a lame rose I got when I was 18 (though I would never get rid of it or cover it up because I don’t want to erase that 18 year-old girl), and ‘impermanence’ in Tibetan on my spine (mostly for the Buddhist concept of impermanence, but also because it’s fun to have a ‘permanent’ tattoo which means impermanent). As for my literary ones, in the order that I got them (clicking on the pictures should make them bigger so you can see more detail):

DH Lawrence tattoo

By Andy Walker at Creative Vandals, Hull

From D.H Lawrence’s poem Self Pity:

I never saw a wild thing
sorry for itself.
A small bird will drop frozen dead from a bough
without ever having felt sorry for itself.

.

.

Alice in Wonderland tattoo

By Holly Dosdale at Namaste Tattoo, Hull

Alice doing science (with chemistry bottles instead of potions). I think the idea that science and arts/literature are mutually exclusive is complete crap. I want, and need, both.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Literary tattoo sleeve

By Bonita Caruana, Hull (This picture was taken just after it was finished, so it’s looking a little red!)

This sleeve is made of my favourites, mostly the ones that have been with me a long time, and references 6 books. The design started with the Vintage cover of the Handmaid’s Tale (the pears at the top and the handmaid at the bottom), and grew to include Hamlet, 1984, Jane Eyre, Harry Potter, and Moby Dick.

.

.

.

.

Handmaid's tale tattoo1984 tattoo.

.

.

.

Photo 16-05-2015 18 07 25Photo 16-05-2015 18 09 17.

.

.

.

.

.

.

I did want to include the non-compliant symbol from Bitch Planet, but it didn’t quite fit into the design, so I will probably squeeze that in somewhere soonish, and then, who knows! I’d love to know if any of you have any literary ink, or if you have a particular favourite you’ve seen on someone else.

This entry was posted in Bookish things and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My literary tattoos

  1. Pingback: June Reads 2015 | mischief and miscellany

Leave a Reply

