August reads 2015

Lots of comics, a couple of novels, and a bit of non-fiction. Not the best reading month in terms of liking everything I read, but more than made up for by the books I did like.

sapiensSapiens by Yuval Noah Harari (non-fiction)

This is one of my favourite reads of the year so far. It’s fascinating, challenging, and very readable. There’s something in this book for everyone. Go and read it now! Full review here.

bad likenessBad Likeness by Stephen Collins (comics – fiction)

This is a sneak peek at Collins’ next graphic novel in progress (he wrote The Gigantic Beard That Was Evil), so is a limited print run (which I think has sold out from his shop, but Gosh Comics might have a few left). As with The Gigantic Beard, I really like the way Collins uses panels and the muted colour palette. I wasn’t sold on the story of a nerdy misfit teenage white boy at first (it’s definitely not new), but I loved it when it got to the so-terrible-it’s-awesome waxwork museum. The girl’s reaction to it is exactly what mine would be. I’m be interested to see how the finished novel turns out when it’s released in 2017.

i feel sickI Feel Sick #1 & #2 by Johnen Vasquez (comics – fiction)

I picked up this double-shot comic without knowing anything about it. I was disappointed the art and colour work on the inside was totally different to the cover, which is what attracted me to it, and the contrast of the text and background colour in the intro to #1 made it difficult to read. But, I did enjoy the story. Some of humour didn’t quite work for me, and felt like it was trying a bit hard to be kooky, but it’s not bad overall. Not sure if I’d recommend it or not.

ms marvelMs Marvel vol 1 by G Willow Wilson & Adrian Alphona (comics – fiction)

I’m not normally a fan of superhero stuff, particularly the origin story part, but I’ve heard so much good stuff about this I had to pick it up. It’s definitely more YA than most other comics I read, but it was a lot of fun and has a lot of really good and important stuff about culture and what it’s like to be a young Muslim girl in America. A bit short, but enjoyable.

wonderWonder by R.J. Palacio (novel)

I liked the way this used different characters’ perspectives, particularly the sister, though I would have liked one from the bully as he was a little one-dimensional. But I really hated the ending. It was extremely patronising towards August (the central character) and way too saccharine. It ends at their graduation from the first year of middle school, and I spent the whole time going “don’t do it, don’t do it, don’t…oh…you did it.” An interesting YA novel that messes up everything about the end.

heroic measuresHeroic Measures by Jill Ciment (novel)

A quiet, light novel, with little plot, but in a way that feels real and intimate. It manages to keep that feeling of ‘real’ and not feel gimmicky despite the fact it’s narrated in part by a dog.  Full review here.

the wicked and the divineThe Wicked and the Divine vol 2 by Kieron Gillen & Jamie McKelvie (comics – fiction)

The art and colour work is still damn hot and what makes this comic. I miss Luci, and the pacing of the arc seems to miss her too, as it felt a bit thin, but redeemed itself with an ending that came out of nowhere. I didn’t enjoy it as much as the first volume, but I’m intrigued where it’s going to go next.

Also on the blog in August:

Times and Places – my literary landmarks that remind me of a certain time, person, or place

Currently reading: We by Yevgeny Zamyatin (novel, Russian in translation)

This entry was posted in Graphic novels / comics, Non-fiction, Novels, Wrap-ups and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

