October reads 2016

I had yet another bad cold so I didn’t read very much this month (thank the gods for mini-comics!), but in terms of liking what I read it was an excellent October. In the order I read them:

the-good-immigrantThe Good Immigrant edited by Nikesh Shukla (non-fiction)

This essay collection is powerful, important, challenging, and very readable. It will definitely be in my top books of this year. Please go and read it. Full review here.

death-and-the-seasideDeath and the Seaside by Alison Moore (novel)

Moore is a master of the novella and I really enjoyed this. I wasn’t so interested in the plot, which is fairly predictable and not especially different from an average female-driven thriller, but I loved all the different elements she weaved in, particularly the different ways death and the sea are linked in fiction. I always enjoy her writing style, which is deceptively simple but full of layers. It doesn’t have the lightness of touch and underlying sense of foreboding of her debut The Lighthouse, but it’s still worth a read.

the-transmigration-of-bodiesThe Transmigration of Bodies by Yuri Herrera (novel, Spanish in translation)

Translated by Lisa Dillman. It took me about 40 pages (almost half the book) to get into this for some reason, but I enjoyed it once I did. I didn’t enjoy it as much as Signs Preceding The End of The World, I think because hard-boiled crime fiction isn’t my thing and this was a take on that genre (with added Shakespearean tragedy and a dystopian flu-epidemic backdrop). Herrera always does a lot within a short space, which is my favourite kind of book, but I wanted a little more from the language in this.

hark-a-vagrantHark! A Vagrant by Kate Beaton (comics, non-fiction/fiction)

I love Kate Beaton’s comics, and I’ve been meaning to read her published collection for ages. I don’t get some of the references (she’s Canadian so some of them deal with Canadian/North American history), but I even like the ones I don’t understand? I had a bad cold and couldn’t really concentrate on a novel, so dipping in and out of this was perfection. My favourite remains Dude Watchin’ With the Brontes:

hark-a-vagrant-brontes

Currently reading: Bitch Planet #9 by Kelly Sue DeConnick & Val DeLandro

This entry was posted in Graphic novels / comics, In translation, Non-fiction, Novels, Wrap-ups and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

