November reads 2016

I wasn’t supposed to be reading in November…so I just read a few comics and listened to an audiobook.

where-am-i-nowWhere Am I Now? by Mara Wilson (non-fiction)

This is the first audiobook I’ve listened to the whole way through, and from that perspective it was great. Mara reads it herself and she has such a soothing voice. It’s a coming-of-age memoir, and, although Mara obviously had quite a different childhood to most people, there’s a lot people will recognise from their own childhood/adolescence. She writes about dealing with mental health issues, not fitting in, trying to work out where you fit, grief, and appearance. I follow her on twitter (she has excellent retweet game) so nothing was particularly new to me (though there are a lot of people who need to read her chapter on going through adolescence in the public eye, and to stop sending her ‘isn’t she ugly now’ links. Urgh). It’s an enjoyable enough book, but didn’t challenge me in the way I like essay collections to. Probably a good one if you’re not used to reading non-fiction, or you’re just feeling a bit nosy about what Matilda is up to now. I’m glad I listened, but glad it wasn’t one I bought.

bitch-planet-9Bitch Planet #9 by Kelly Sue DeConnick & Valentine de Landro (comics, fiction)

I’m finding the long gaps between each issue means it takes me a while to get back into what’s going on, particularly as I usually read trades rather than singles. But I still love this series and will keep reading it in singles because the back matter is so good. In this issue, chaos kicks off and old hero is released from her cell…

wicked-and-divine-4The Wicked & The Divine volume 4 by Kieron Gillen & Jamie McKelvie (comics, fiction)

I enjoyed this much more than volume 3. The title is ‘Rising Action’ and shit is going down as the gods battle it out. It also helps that McKelvie and Matt Wilson (the colourist) are back for the full volume, as the changes in art style didn’t work very well in volume 3. Given the ending of this one, I think volume 5 is either going to be great or a bit directionless, but I’m looking forward to finding out.

paper-girls-volume-1Paper Girls volume 1 by Brian K Vaughan & Cliff Chang (comics, fiction)

I really liked the 80s vibe in this and the colour work by Matt Wilson (who also does The Wicked and The Divine). Though I enjoyed it, the plot was little rushed, and isn’t the strongest, but I think it’s a comic with a lot of potential so I’ll definitely pick up volume 2.

saga-volume-6Saga volume 6 by Fiona Staples & Brain K Vaughan (comics, fiction)

It’s been ages since I read volume 5, so I had to look up what happened because I couldn’t remember what was going on (the problem with multiple characters and storylines in various parts of the universe). I think Saga is over-hyped, but it is good, if a little same old in this volume. I like the way they portray Marko and Alana’s relationship as very loving but complicated (and not just because of where they come from), and how Hazel has her own storyline. But I don’t care much about the subplots, even though they all intersect with the main one. I’m not a big fan of ‘epic’ fiction, so maybe it’s just a genre thing I’m not into. I’ll still give volume 7 a go, though.

preacherPreacher book 1 by Garth Ennis & Steve Dillion (comics, fiction)

I DNF-ed this one about half-way through. Loads of people have recommended it to me but I just couldn’t get into it. I didn’t like the art style and couldn’t make myself care about the plot. Meh.

This entry was posted in Graphic novels / comics, Non-fiction, Wrap-ups and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

