March reads 2017

I only finished two books this month, which is the least I’ve read in a very long time. On Friday evening I considered pushing through my exhaustion to read another one because two ‘wasn’t enough for someone who has a book blog’, then I realised I was being an idiot. I honestly believe in reading on whim, and it’s not the amount but that you want to read and enjoy what you’re reading. But social perceptions still managed to creep in. I knew I’d be reading a lot less this month with a new job so actually I’m pleased I managed to read something.

the handmaids taleThe Handmaid’s Tale by Margaret Atwood (novel)

It’s been 15 years since I last read this, and sometimes old favourites don’t remain favourites when you re-read them in a different time / context, but I still absolutely love it (which is good because I have Offred tattooed on me). I particularly like that you see how the society of the novel came to be, which you don’t normally get in most dystopian fiction. And, even though it was written in the 80s and has a number of references to concerns at that time, it has the kind of timeless quality that great fiction has. Atwood is really good at placing her stories within reach of the present (and everything in the book has happened, or is happening, somewhere), and that hasn’t changed, unfortunately given the plot, in the thirty years since.

the things we thought we knewThe Things We Thought We knew by Mahsuda Snaith (novel)

This wasn’t for me. Though I thought the characters and environment were well-drawn, it wasn’t my kind of writing style and I ended up getting annoyed with the representation of someone with chronic pain. Full review here.

Also on the blog this month:

A review of Northern Ballet’s Casanova

Currently reading: Do Not Say We Have Nothing by Madeleine Thien. Absolutely loving this so far.

This entry was posted in Novels, Wrap-ups and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

